Yoga Chakra Art Gallery

A chakra is a vortex of moving energy of which there are seven within the body, from the bottom of the spine to the top of the head.  We are more than a physical body; we are a complete energy system that unites all levels of being into an energetic totality.  The chakra system is a ladder that takes us from the physical realm up through the workings of the higher mind into the realm of Divine Consciousness.  Each chakra has a specific color, deity images attached to it and a geometric archetype representing one of the elements (earth, water, fire, air, ether, mind).  Each chakra lies within a lotus flower with a specific number of petals associated with an equivalent number of sounds, representing unfolding spiritual energies.  Energies can be represented in different ways: 

  1. figuratively:  male and female deity images

  2. abstractly:  combination of sacred geometric forms

  3. subtly:  Sanskrit alphabet and mantras, in verbal, written and thought form

These type of paintings are also called yantras; the form in which the energies are held.  It is also a  visual tool used during meditation.  The mantras in this series come from the Sri Lalita Sahasranama, the 1000 names of Divine Mother.  The mantras chosen are complimentary to the element represented. 

A set of 7 chakra art cards (one of each), 5x5, can be purchased for $20 per set.

Visit the online Yoga Art Store to place an order.

Please subscribe to our email list to be kept informed of future works. 

Next Gallery

Back to Art Galleries Homepage